Memento 9 by Damien Hirst - MyArtBroker

Memento Damien Hirst

Find out more about Damien Hirst’s Memento series, browse prints & editions for sale & view the works wanted by active buyers right now.

Memento is a series of 13 etchings by Damien Hirst published in 2008. The subject matter of the Memento series is representative of Hirst’s most celebrated iconography: the skull, the diamond and the butterfly. The series comprises six prints of butterflies, six of skulls and one of a diamond skull, each image sharing the same composition and set against a dark backdrop.

Hirst’s Memento series shores up the duality that structures the core of human experience, depicting objects that represent the constant psychic tussle between life and death, beauty and decay, desire and fear, love and loss. Each print in the series shows a physical manifestation of this set of beliefs and ideas, depicted in meticulous detail so as to emphasise a visceral confrontation with the viewer.

Depicted in beautifully rich detail, the butterflies in the centre of the first four compositions are striking in their colouring and its mimetic quality. Hirst’s concern with depicting his chosen subject matter in photographic detail stems from his work on ‘fact’ painting beginning in 2000. The artist’s aim with such works was to attempt to reproduce photographs in the traditional medium of oil on canvas. The realistic image of the butterfly plays with Hirst’s concern around facts and truth that photographs are assumed to depict.

Read more

Art Wanted

View All (471)

Related Art

View All (39)