The Dead (racing green, island copper)

The Dead (racing green, island copper)
Signed Print

Damien Hirst

Foil Block, 2009
Signed Print Edition of 15
H 72cm x W 51cm

Critical Review

The print, made in 2009, is one of thirty-one prints that belong to The Dead series. While each print in the series shows the same skull, the colours Hirst uses vary from print to print, meaning no two in the series are alike. By using such bold and vibrant colours, Hirst challenges the viewer to confront the theme of death and human mortality and think of death in a more positive way. Indeed, Hirst explains, “You can frighten people with death or an idea of their own mortality, or it can actually give them vigour.”

The Dead series is similar to other series by Hirst such as I Once Was What You Are, You Will Be What I Am (2007) and Memento (2008), which similarly use the skull icon as their focal point.

More from the series