0% Sellers Fees on Damien Hirst Prints
The Dead (turquoise, panama copper)

The Dead (turquoise, panama copper)
Signed Print

Damien Hirst

Foil Block, 2009
Signed Print Edition of 15
H 41cm x W 30cm

Critical Review

The print, produced in 2009, is part of the artist’s The Dead series. The series is composed of thirty-one prints, all of which depict a floating skull. The skulls rendered in each print in The Dead series are identical, unlike Hirst’s other series, I Once Was What You Are, You Will Be What I Am (2007), in which each skull is slightly different. However, Hirst does use a unique combination of colours for each skull, which differs from the black and white approach he takes in I Once Was What You Are, You Will Be What I Am (2007), and Memento (2008).

Skulls have assumed a central role in Hirst’s iconography. Alongside butterflies and diamonds, skulls are closely associated with the artist’s visual language. The skull itself acts as a memento mori, a visual reminder of the inevitability of death. Indeed, Hirst is fascinated by death and frequently explores this theme in his other artworks.

More from the series